Maintained by Tony Senatore

© Tony Senatore 2015. The Australian Copyright by law you are not permitted to reproduce any of the content on this website, including files downloadable from this website, without the permission of the copyright owner.





Area-7 are arguably Australia's most successful Ska / Punk band. Their rose from the ashes of Madness cover band Mad Not Madness. Formed a band and named it after a lyric from The Specials' Dawning of a New Era. In 1996 singer Walter Eskdale left and the band recruited John "Stevo" Stevens, formerly of rockabilly band Yeah Yeah!, to vocals. Alistair Shepherd (sax), Toby Dargaville (trumpet) and Rohan Pacey (bass) all left in approximately 2002, and were replaced by Paul West (trombone) Matt Sanders (trumpet) and Chris Meighen (bass).

They have released five major releases like Road Rage, No Logic!, Bitter & Twisted (Gold status), Say It To My Face (Gold status) and Torn Apart. Highlights include their Gold albums, their ARIA nomination for Best Rock Album in 2000 and their significant success on the Australian touring circuit. Their career over the last two decades has seen some amazing highlights – they’ve hit the main stage of all the major festivals of their time, being a major player for festivals like Warped, Pushover, Big Day Out, Offshore, Falls Festival, Homebake and more.





John “Stevo” Stevens - Lead Vocals Alistair Shepherd - Saxophone
Charles “Chucky T” Thompson - Guitar Chris Meighen - Bass
David Jackson - Keyboards & Skateboard Dugald McNaughtan - Keyboards
Pauly West - Trombone James Law - Keyboards
Dan Morrison - Drums Matt Sanders - Trumpet
  Rohan Pacey - Bass
  Toby Dargaville - Trumpet
  Walter Eskdale - Lead Vocals


1997 Road Rage Independent A7002
1998 No Logic Rapido RAP032
2000 Bitter & Twisted Zomba TM007
2001 Say It To My Face Zomba TM012
2005 Torn Apart Shock A7003